About Me

My photo
Born in the late 60's, Chesy hails from a Welsh mining village with a long name and was pretty glad when he got the Hell out of there. He got into Rock/Metal in about 1980, thanks to a TISWAS related incident (Rainbow video for All Night Long) and thankfully has never looked back. Chesy often sang solo in the school choir, but thanks to a puberty related incident his voice is now completely bolloxed, although in his own head Paul thinks he sounds like a blend of Coverdale and Dio (R.I.P). He was brought up on the classics - Deep Purple, Rainbow, Thin Lizzy, Rush, Whitesnake and loved melodic rock and the Hair Bands of the 80's. (Nowadays, he has progressed a little and prefers a more technical and/or progressive metal - Dream Theater, Rush, Symphony X, Porcupine Tree, Pain Of Salvation, Spock's Beard. He hates Black and Death Metal (can't stand the grunting) but for some unknown reason loves the magnificent Opeth! He wont stop this blog until his beloved FM finally play the likes of the NEC as a headlining act!!!

Sunday, 14 October 2018

Loimann - 'A Voluntary Lack Of Wisdom' Album Review

Italian Post Doom metallers LOIMANN just recently unveiled the hotly anticipated details about their upcoming third studio album 'A Voluntary Lack of Wisdom', which is set to be released on November 9th 2018 with Argonauta Records!
 
Formed in 2001 under the major influences of desert rock bands alike Kyuss, Fu Manchu or Monster Magnet, LOIMANN's sound evolved over the years for a more doom and heavy psych approach. Recorded at O.F.F. Studios in Torino during the summer of 2017 with Paul Beauchamp and Salvo Arico (Marmore/Khoy), the band's new work partially changes the direction compared to the previous records, with a more direct and easy listening sound while never losing their heaviness.

„The Songs are shorter, more “in your face” (no keyboards at all this time) and with less complex songwriting“the band explains. „On the other side we think we managed to obtain a more extreme result, with more growls and screams, concerning vocal parts and blackened post-core breaks coming out from doom/sludge riffs and atmospheres. The lyrics are centered on how human race is slowly approaching its extinction thanks to wars, pollution and thanks to how many human beings are becoming sort of involute individuals, thanks to the predominance internet has in their lives.“ 

Another band that I had never heard of lands on my doorstep, and another band I wish I had heard a long time ago.  ‘Slaughterhouse no.5’ kicks off the album through sheer brute force. There’s a punky feel to it. It reminds me of my teens when I’d be moshing on the floor to the likes of Bomb Disneyland and Carcass and the like. ‘I Own The Right To Tear Me Apart’ confirms that what I’m about to get sucked into is an intense hour or so of piercing thrash and doom metal mixed into one, so I’ll hold on to my hat. The speed changes in this track are quite remarkable and there’s a beautiful tone to the bass when it solo’s. ‘For Those About To Sink’ has a more melodic feel to it but still manages to gallop along when required. There’s some nice bridge riffing in this.

The songs I’ve heard so far seem to be pieced together with different sections and it works really well and makes the songs very enjoyable. ‘Living In Fear Of Death,Dying In Fear Of Life’ turns the melodic side of Loimann straight on its head as the crunching opening riff hits you like a steam train, and then slides into a doomy, intense verse. I can imagine these guys being brutal live. ‘Mass Redeemer’ starts off slowly and moodily and slides into a deep dark intro which had me hooked all the way through as it eventually kicks into a verse which has a strange mixture of melodic singing and growling which I still cant work out whether it works or not. ‘Moral Dismemberment’ starts with a very clever and laid back intro which takes you away on a tangent if you close your eyes for long enough, and then presents us with a classic Kyuss riff for its verse.

It’s a great album this and very well produced.’ V.I.T.R.I.O.L. (Vacuity. Ignites. Tremendous. Riot. Inside. Our. Lives)’ kicks in with an awesome late / Napalm Death style doom riff but that quickly vanishes into a fast-paced verse. Probably the best start to a song on this album. ‘They Live’, followed by ‘Outro’ close this brilliant effort. Outro for a few seconds sounded like the opening intro on Pearl Jam’s debut album ‘Ten’……………….but only for a few seconds. Overall very enjoyable album and would love to catch these guys live.

Score 8/10

Reviewed by Sty

Track listing:

1. INTRO – SLAUGHTERHOUSE n°5
2. I OWN THE RIGHT TO TEAR ME APART
3. FOR THOSE ABOUT TO SINK
4. LIVING IN FEAR OF DEATH, DYING IN FEAR OF LIFE
5. MASS REDEEMER
6. MORAL DISMEMBERMENT
7. V.I.T.R.I.O.L. (Vacuity. Ignites. Tremendous. Riot. Inside. Our. Lives.)8. THEY LIVE
9. OUTRO - No Prayer for the Living

Saturday, 13 October 2018

Ross The Boss, Eleven, Stoke On Trent, 11.10.18



Having reviewed Ross The Boss ‘By Blood Sworn’ album a few months ago on this site, I was super-excited to be going along to see the guys live in what seemed to be (prior to getting there) a very intimate venue.

What a fantastic set-up ‘Eleven’ have. It’s intimate, personal, and a perfect size to watch and get close to the guys you’ve come to see. Prior to the gig, we were treated to a free ‘Meet & Greet’ session with Ross, as he gave out guitar picks, posed for photos, and was a general fantastic, friendly and loveable guy. He had some great stories to tell, and made sure he spoke to us all. Brilliant.
 
And that’s exactly what followed on stage. It was a very disappointing crowd of only around 40 people, but this did not stop the lads putting on a perfect and professional display of superb tunes, great crowd interaction and non-stop metal. Whether the capacity of 250 or the reality of 40 people, RTB performed no different and it was a night to remember. Performing Manowar classics, the gig kicked off with ‘Blood of the Kings’, followed closely by ‘The Oath’, and the guys seemed to be enjoying themselves as much as the crowd, drummer Steve Bolognese donning a constant beaming grin through each song. Brilliant to see.

Talk about making the most out of a challenging situation, Marc Lopez showed us all what an icon and presence he is on stage. Continuously moving, getting close to the crowd and getting everyone involved. As the band powered through classics such as ‘Sign of the Hammer’, ‘Hatred’, and ‘Blood of my Enemies’ it was clear as crystal what was going on here. Myself personally, I came to hear songs from RTB latest album ‘By Blood Sworn’, but the crowd were just revelling in the Manowar classics, and after this gig, I get it, totally. The tracks were played with such stunning power it was just too good, too, too good.
Next came ‘Kill With Power’ and ‘Each Dawn I Die’. 

What a singer Marc Lopez is. This current line up I believe is the best Ross has had. It just gels, especially live. ‘Hail to England’ got us all singing and is just an absolute stunner live. ‘Great Gods Glorious’, ‘Fighting The World’ and the absolutely stunning ‘Battle Hymn’ followed. The latter being one of my highlights of the night. Marc Lopez providing some superb vocals.
 
The guys finished with ‘Thor (The Powerhead)’ and the amazing ‘Hail and Kill’, with it’s almost 5 minute unreal blues jam. It’s been an absolute pleasure tonight seeing these guys bring such a huge show to the small stage, in a small venue, to a small crowd.
‘Hail and Kill’ tonight showed the strength and diversity of this band. My heart bleeds for them for such a small crowd. But tonight I will be so proud to be part of a bunch of people who got to see such an amazing band up close and personal. Next time, I’ll be there again. Hail & Salute RTB!! Thank you guys. xx




Score – 10/10

Reviewed by Sty

Setlist

Blood Of The Kings
The Oath
Sign Of The hammer
Hatred
Blood Of My Enemies
Kill With Power
Each Dawn I Die
Hail To England
Great Gods Glorious
Fighting The World
Battle Hymn
Thor (The Powerhead)
Hail And Kill

Sunday, 30 September 2018

Brainstorm - 'Midnight Ghost' Album Review



The chain of circumstantial evidence is long and speaks for itself: Brainstorm’s new album, Midnight Ghost, is a veritable milestone. There are plenty of reasons for this, starting with the initial compilation of ideas through the meticulous development of the song arrangements and concentrated production at Sebastian ‘Seeb’ Levermann’s (Orden Ogan) Greenman Studios to the atmospheric cover artwork courtesy of Gyula Havancsak (Accept, Stratovarius). All the cogs have obviously meshed and produced a result that’s bound to delight all power metal fans and has even surprised the five band members themselves. “It’s pretty unusual that musicians still get shivers down their spines when they listen to the new material after a long and energy-sapping production. In this case we can really say that all Brainstorm musicians are total fans of our new recording,” says vocalist Andy B. Franck, adding: “Midnight Ghost is the album we want to be measured by in the future.”

Are there special reasons for this creative avalanche that was kicked off almost two years ago and has now culminated in ten new songs?

I’m asking myself the above question whilst listening to what I thought was a pretty poor opener in ‘Devil’s Eye’. A potentially good song seems to be drowned by the relentless double bass drums. But the disappointment didn’t last long as we hit into ‘Revealing The Darkness’, which again starts with the double bass drum, but soon turns into a very nice verse with some great guitar licking, together with a killer bridge. Proper metal this, with hints of Accept thrown in for good measure.

If you’re into your melodic / hard metal then this album will be for you. I do feel like these guys are stuck a little in the 80’s which admittedly isn’t a bad thing I suppose, just not quite for me. Some people move on, some don’t. There’s no right or wrong in that whatsoever. As we reach ‘Jeanne Boulet 1764’, which starts in a very Tenacious D way, we are treated to a far more in-depth effort of what this band can do. A dark, melodic, synth filled anthem which is by far the best effort on this album so far.I’m loving the start of ‘Divine Inner Ghost’ with it’s driving riff, a great verse to the song but unfortunately it doesn’t last long when the chorus kicks in. I’m finding the chorus here all seem to be a bit too melodic for me. We’ve got good openings to tracks and verses and then we are let down by the chorus.

Overall a good album for the metalheads out there. Me personally, I prefer a little more diversity but I’ve heard a lot worse.


Score 6/10

Reviewed by Sty

Track Listing

1 – Devil’s Eye
2 – Revealing The Darkness
3 – Ravenous Minds
4 – The Pyre
5 – Jeanne Boulet 1764
6 – Divine Inner Ghost
7 – When Pain Becomes Real
8 – Four Blessings
9 – Haunting Voices
10 – The Path


Line-Up

Andy B.Franck – Vocals
Torsten Ihlenfeld – Guitars
Milan Loncaric – Guitars
Antonio Leva – Bass
Dieter Bernert - Drums

Monday, 3 September 2018

Dream Child - 'Until Death Do We Meet Again' Album Review


Dream Child – Until Death Do We Meet Again

‘more Dio than Dio!’

Dream Child is a band comprising of some 80s heavyweights in Craig Goldy (ex-Dio, Guiffria), Simon Wright (ex AC/DC, Dio, Operation:Mindcrime) and Rudy Sarzo ex-Quiet Riot, Ozzy, Whitesnake and Dio). Along for the ride are Wayne Findlay (ex-MSG) and Diego Valdez (Helker). As you can see these guys all have form. 

Craig Goldy says, "the band Dream Child was conceived during a brainstorming session with Serafino (President of Frontiers) and I one day while discussing other matters. I had been listening to my favorite bands a lot recently, Deep Purple and Rainbow's “Rising" album, among others in that style and had noticed that many people who also love those bands often have the very same comments as one another: "They don't make music like that anymore!" Even though I said that in passing, Serafino asked me a question that would forever shape my future. He simply asked, "Well, can you?" and I said.....”YES!!!"

During the very first public memorial for our most beloved Ronnie James Dio, I had mentioned that whenever I do start writing original material again that I would utilize everything that I had learned from working side by side with the Master for so many years in such a way that I would hope to make him proud....and here it is! The name is inspired by one of his lyrics on the "Dream Evil" album and the nickname he gave me at the time, Dream Child!

The video for opener ‘Under The Wire’ has been available for some weeks now, and it just hammers home the Dio legacy that they are aiming for. Spookily the opening tinkles are very close indeed to a part of Tubular Bells, or many may know it as the theme to The Exorcist. ‘You Cant Take Me Down’s’ opening draws on Dio’s Sabbath era and is very ‘Sign Of The Southern Cross’ before Valdez wails and channels his inner Ronnie. If you try to write an 80s classic sounding album in 2018 then the Dio references will come thick and fast due to him having three of the best albums of this period. I can even see Valdez in my minds eye spinning his mic stand as he bangs it out. The guy is a very decent Dio foil indeed. Goldy goes straight for the Strat and the solo is typical Rainbow! So far, so good by me. 

‘Games Of Shadows’ does what it says on the tin, another Sabb-Di-bow construction. My ears prick up at the 2:15 point in ‘It Is What It Is’, and I’ll tell you what it is, it’s the exact same riff from Rough Cutt’s ‘Take Her’. Its not even ‘tweaked’ to sound similar. In fact, bands have been sued for less. ‘Playing With Fire’ is the first deviation where the vocals are at a higher register, and with its decent riff and drumming make it different from the norm. The title track ‘Until Death Do We Meet Again’ is Dio by any other name, its like a mix of the ‘big number’ that Ronnie had on all of his albums – Last In Line, Sunset Superman, All The Fools Sailed Away, and is the meat in this sandwich and is huge in sound, scale and length. 

The next three songs leave me a bit perplexed – ‘Washed Upon The Shore’ has a lengthy into but doesn’t lag for it, but when the vocals do kick in, it’s the one song where they don’t match the high standard of the riff.  It’s a song that doesn’t quite know if it wants to be an epic length instrumental (which it should have been) or a song. I could have done without it. ‘In A World So Cold’ is standard fare for them now, but is nothing special. ‘Weird World’ is a bit of a, well, ‘weird’ song compared to the rest of what’s on offer here. Then finally we are onto another lengthy 9 minuter, in ‘One Step Beyond The Grave’ where they redeem themselves from the last few songs. Its got Sarzo’s pounding bass, atmospheric keyboards, and a punchy riff similar to ‘Egypt (The Chains Are On)’. It climaxes with Craig Goldy wringing every last note out of his guitar to the fade out.

As an album there’s nothing new here for you, but as a sound harking back to the great days of the 80s, it nails it smack in the middle, and I think that’s what Goldy wanted to do. It transported me to the early 80s. Ronnie would be proud at Goldy’s sentiments, as aside from them doing a tribute album covering his songs, an album produced in a ‘classic rock sound’ doesn’t get much better than this. I could have done with 2-3 fewer tracks towards the end as I feel as if they wanted to fill every second available to them on a CD.

Fair dues to all the guys here as lets face it, they could have phoned in their bits from the old rockers care home in Hollywood. Thankfully they have all stepped up to the plate and made it one hell of an enjoyable album, and isnt that what music is all about?

Score 8/10

Tracklisting –
Under The Wire
You Can’t Take Me Down
Games Of Shadows
It Is What It Is
Playing With Fire
Light Of The Dark
Midnight Song
Until Death Do We Meet Again
Washed Upon The Shore
In A World So Cold
Weird World
One Step Beyond The Grave

BAND MEMBERS: 
Craig Goldy – Lead and rhythm guitars, keyboards and bass
Rudy Sarzo – Bass 
Simon Wright – Drums
Wayne Findlay – Keyboards
Diego Valdez – Lead Vocals and background vocals

PRODUCED BY :  Alessandro Del Vecchio & Craig Goldy
Special honourable mention to Rudy Sarzo, Diego Valdez and Wayne Findlay who engineered the studio recordings of their own amazing performances captured on this album!
Simon Wright’s drum recorded at:
STUDIO: The Boom Room
RECORDED BY: Christian Hogan
MIXED BY: Alessandro Del Vecchio & Craig Goldy
MASTERED BY: Alessandro Del Vecchio

Links:

Monday, 27 August 2018

Graham Bonnet Band - The Tivoli, Buckley 24.8.18


If you’re a fan of rock music (lets face it, why wouldn’t you be), then you would have to be under the age of 29 or been living in a cave for the last 40 yrs not to know the name Graham Bonnet. His star quickly shone when Ritchie Blackmore picked him from a pop quiz that Cozy Powell used to play intros to his record collection when Rainbow were down to a threesome after Dio, Daisley & Stone, and others had departed. The song, ‘Only One Woman’. ‘I want him’ stated Blackmore, and the rest they say, is history.

A very quick dalliance with MSG, but it spawned a belter of an album in Assault Attack, before forming his own band Alcatrazz. The guy has played alongside some great guitarists no doubt – Blackmore, Vai, Malmsteen, Impelliteri, Moody, Kulick, all of which is of no coincidence.

I last saw him about 15yrs ago in Crewe and he was blindingly good. 24.8.18 sees him at The Tivoli in Buckley and nudging 71. I have to state this as recently Steve Perry has popped his head up and announced a new album after a 25 yr absence. Perry is 69 and still sounds good. I’ll come back to this later.

Straight in with an Alcatrazz number ‘Too Young To Die, Too Drunk To Live’ Bonnet immediately showed how good he IS. A waif of a man, but with the voice of a foghorn. If you doubted his age, or his stamina beforehand, don’t. It was laid to rest at the Tivoli. A 5 minute break ensued as Bonnet's drummer, Mark Benquechea decided he wanted a different drum kit. Bonnet swiftly whipped out a carrot, and not his knob unlike Sheffield and reminisced. ‘All Night Long’ followed and there was no worries regarding the notes, Bonnet is on form. With a guitarist like Kurt James, Bonnet has a foil who can play all the Malmsteen, Vai, Blackmore and Impelliteri parts with ease. Sure the solos were not identical, but the aforementioned never play the same solo twice anyway. The band were very tight but Id like to have heard a bit more of the backing vocals on a couple of song and not just relying on a 70 yr old to pump out the vocals. Waldo was heard, but unless it was down to my positioning, Beth-Ami Heavenstone sounded like (or didn’t) like Lilly from Pitch Perfect. A reference for the kids there, methinks!

Highlights for me were ‘Night games’, the excellent ‘Desert Song’ (which is one of the best rock songs of all time), and the finale of ‘Lost In Hollywood’

I understand the need to drop in recently written songs, and a couple of fillers like ‘Goodnight and Goodbye’ and ‘Starcarr Lane’, AND, one of the crappiest guitar solos Ive ever witnessed! But when its at the expense of the likes of ‘Eyes Of The World’, ‘Samurai’, ‘Dancer’, ‘God Blessed Video’, ‘Sons and Lovers’, and ‘Hiroshima… ‘etc, then it could have gone from being a very good gig, to an exceptional gig, especially when some of these have been on the set list recently.


So, despite Perry being 69, I understand his album is ballad heavy. I even said myself recently, ‘you cant over expect anything from a bloke at this age’.  If that’s what Perry wants to do, then that’s great. But after seeing Bonnet sing full tilt (he cant do it any other way), for a solid 100 mins, then the ground rules have been re-set. You CAN hope/demand/expect some icons to be belting it out as they did 40 yrs ago.

If I were 70, I would be happy being able to stand up for 100 minute, never mind belt out a set. Bonnet shows if you look after yourself, then you can beat the hands of time. Long may he continue, because guys like Graham Bonnet will not be around forever.

Pictures Courtesy of Jeff Price


Graham Bonnet Band -

Graham Bonnet – Vocals

Jimmy Waldo – Keyboards

Kurt James – Guitar

Beth-Ami Heavenstone – Bass

Mark Benquechea – Drums



Setlist



Too Young To Die, Too Drunk To Live

All Night Long

Night games

California Air

Island In The Sun

Jet To Jet

Rock You To The Ground

Stand In Line

Starcarr Lane

Goodnight and Goodbye

Desert Song

Into The Night

Long island Tea

Assault Attack

Mirror Lies

Since You Been Gone

Lost In Hollywood

Saturday, 25 August 2018

Groundbreaker - S/T Album review (2)


 Groundbreaker - S/T


Groundbreaker is the new project featuring Steve ”The Voice” Overland of F.M  and Robert Sall of  Work Of Art and W.E.T. These two gentlemen are both mainstays in the melodic rock arena, so when these guys get together expectations are high and unsurprisingly they’ve come through.


Anybody who is familiar with F.M already knows that they’re going to be listening to in my opinion the greatest voice that has ever graced the melodic rock scene and I don’t think I’m alone considering the amount of acts that have collaborated with Steve. Robert Sall has brought together a phenomenal cast of musicians to record has opus and has written songs that are a perfect fit for Steve’s vocal style he hasn’t written the next F.M. album. 


Groundbreaker is a collection of upbeat fist pumping melodic rock that you will want to play over and over again, I only heard this album for the first time today and it has been on repeat for the last 14 hours (it’s now 10pm). This is an album that you don’t have to break down song by song to review it because I say this with my hand on my heart that in my opinion there isn’t a single weak track here and that this is the perfect melodic rock album, in fact I think it’s so good that I had multiple eargasms!!!

Whilst I do look forward to new albums by both established and new artists I don’t get excited however in this instance I am genuinely excited, I’ve already pre-ordered this gem and the 14th of September can not come fast enough so that I can get my grubby little mits on the physical version of Groundbreaker, put your hands in your pockets open your wallet and get out your card if you’re going to pre-order any release year this is the one you should.



This album gets a very well deserved 10/10.

Review by HollywoodVampyre
 
RELEASED - 14 September 2018


BAND MEMBERS: 

Steve Overland - Vocals

Robert Sall - Guitars 

Nalley Pahlsson - Bass

Herman Furin - Drums

With Alessandro Del Vecchio – Keyboards

 
Tracklisting –

Over My Shoulder

Will It Make You Love Me

Eighteen ‘Til I Die

Only Time Will Tell

Tonight

Standing Up For Love

Something Worth Fighting For

The Sound Of A Broken Heart

The First Time

The Days Of Our Life

The Way It Goes



Groundbreaker - 'S/T' Album Review


Groundbreaker - 'S/T'

You can spend £300m on a footy team and not guarantee any success. Can you put two European Masters of melodic rock together and bring guaranteed success? Not necessarily. It has worked here, and this is what Frontiers Don, Serafino Perugino has done in bringing Steve Overland and Robert Säll together to make Groundbreaker. Lets face it, it wasn’t going to be difficult to put a project together when both parties have experience in such matters - Säll with W.E.T., and Overland with Shadowman. So it wasn’t ever going to be abject failure. You know what they say, ‘form is temporary, but class is permanent’. Both these fellas are undoubtedly a class act.

The album started with a conversation happened between Frontiers President Serafino Perugino and Overland, eager to start a collaboration with new and exciting musicians from the European melodic rock scene. The idea was immediately work involve Robert Säll of Work of Art in the picture and use Alessandro Del Vecchio’s production. Overland immediately loved the material that was submitted and consequently they started to work on songs.



"I’m the main composer for about half of the songs but Ale and Steve wrote a lot as well,” tells Robert Säll. “I had to write songs with Steve´s voice in mind and that was new and very inspiring to me. But for any fan of FM or Work of Art, I think they will be very familiar with the sound of this record!"

With Säll writing 50% himself, then these songs have more than a Work Of Art and FM sound to them. One thing is for certain, these songs are as finely polished as the brass door knocker at Mr Sheene’s factory.

If you’re a fan of these guy already then it really is the biggest no brainer since you convinced yourself to buy legwarmers in the 80s. Its like settling down on the comfiest of sofas, or chatting with a best mate that you haven’t spoken with in years; you get my drift, right?

‘Over My Shoulder’ is pure melodic simplicity at its best, Overland is Overland, the Ronseal vocalist of his generation, singing with a soul and passion that few can match, and with Säll’s guitar its quickly realized that this is a match made in Heaven, well Italy. ‘Will It Make You Love Me’ sounds like it should be a ballad, but it’s a song with one of the hookiest choruses you’ll hear this year, and any other year. ‘Eighteen Till I Die’ and ‘Only Time Will Tell’ just pick up the batton and carry on the high quality, with the guitar, vocals and keyboard right up, front and centre. ‘Standing Up For Love’ has the parpy, moody opening, extends into a punchier and heavier track with some really nice harmonies; think Michael Bolton.  – not that one, the one before he became the housewives choice. Yes that one.

‘Tonight’ is the first (sort of) ballad on offer and it’s a good one, but not the best on here. The trophy goes to ‘Something Worth Fighting For’. If something like this attracts the attention of Mrs Chesworth on a first listen (who is by far the better reviewer out of the both of us) then I know it’s a good one, and the more I hear it, the more I like it. It’s like waterboarding, only in a fun way! It sounds familiar, like you’ve known it for years, and deserves to win an award, as its that good. Overland projects his vocal prowess, showing emotion and passion in his vocals, and in this one song alone, proves to the World why he is called ‘The Voice’.

This is one project that definitely has legs and could see the partnership blossoming and around for many years to come, and could outlive their current day jobs. In leaving the knob twiddling to Del Vecchio its enabled them to create one of the best melodic rock albums of the year, if not the best. I could imagine this in full Foreigner mode live, with a choir ramping it up to eleven! 

‘The Sound Of A Broken Heart’ highlights the assets of all here, its  everything coming together for the greater good. It’s the five guys working in harmony. ‘First Time’ comes with Overlands trademarked ‘whoa-ohhs’ and starts off as one song, and switches the chorus to a more powerful force and back again. It’s a nice  balance and very 80s. ‘The Days Of Our Life’ is an upbeat song and typical Summer song that would have dominated MTV. The album is over way too quickly with ‘The Way It Goes’ and I have pretty much run out of platitudes at this point.

Groundbreaker have come to the party with eleven songs all being of great quality, with not a duffer in sight, proving you don’t need to come armed with 17 songs and a running time of 75 mins. It’s the best 2635 seconds you will hear all year!

The keyboard sounds and overall production on this are just fab, and I have to give credit to Alessandro Del Vecchio.

Frontiers have been pumping out a lot of albums the last couple of years with many being average at best. There have been some nuggets from them along the way, but now’t comes close to this for the label.

Sod the young guns. Guys if you want to up your game then you need to be watching (and listening to) the older guard, as four of the best melodic rock albums this year have come from NHA, Airrace, Perfect Plan, and now Groundbreaker. They’ve upped their game, now up yours.

If you’re a fan of melodic rock, and you don’t like this, then you’re not listening hard enough.

Score – 9/10

Groundbreaker –
Robert Säll – Guitars
Steve Overland – Vocals
Nalley Pahlsson – Bass
Herman Furing – Drums
With Alessandro Del Vecchio – Keyboards

Produced by Alessandro Del Vecchio

Tracklisting –
Over My Shoulder
Will It Make You Love Me
Eighteen ‘Til I Die
Only Time Will Tell
Tonight
Standing Up For Love
Something Worth Fighting For
The Sound Of A Broken Heart
The First Time
The Days Of Our Life
The Way It Goes